Lemony Globe Artichokes

November 20, 2012

Lemony Globe Artichokes

Page 168, Ottolenghi

003

I am about to shame myself in public by admitting to all of you that I do not think that making fresh artichokes is worth the trouble. There! I said it. And I stand by it. This is only my second attempt, however I think it may also be my last. The work is not arduous (in fact, I will happily spend hours doing food prep), but watching a beautiful globe of artichoke goodness be reduced to it’s edible parts is both painful and ultimately feels wasteful. Apparently I would rather turn the other way and have my artichokes presented already prepared and with no knowledge of the HUGE amount of the lovely globe that must be removed/disposed of prior to my eating it.

005

The flavors in this Ottolenghi dish sing – as is true with most of his more simple treatments of vegetables – and if you are inclined toward fresh artichokes, I would defitely reccomend giving this one a try.

007

http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2007/aug/25/foodanddrink.recipes1

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

